1000 Wonders of the World!
Sacri Monti
CC0 | Author: Stefano BistolfiĀ  | Full Size Picture

Sacri Monti

Rank: 1001 UNESCO
Wonder Type: Cultural
Country: Italy
The nine Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains) of northern Italy are groups of chapels and other architectural features created in the late 16th and 17th centuries and dedicated to different aspects of the Christian faith. In addition to their symbolic spiritual meaning, they are of great beauty by virtue of the skill with which they have been integrated into the surrounding natural landscape of hills, forests and lakes. They also house much important artistic material in the form of wall paintings and statuary.
This article uses material from UNESCO World Heritage List article "Sacri Monti", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike 3.0 IGO License.